• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 951

Animesh Biswas

Ph.D (IIT Delhi)

Professor Departement of Electrical Engineering


Research Interest



  • Post-doctoral Studies: Oregon State University, USA,
    (May 1989‐July 1990)
  • Ph.D.: IIT Delhi (1989)
  • M.Tech.: IIT Kharagpur (1982)
  • B.E.: Calcutta University (1980)



  • A. Biswas and B. Bhat, "Accurate characterization of inductive strip in finline," IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Tech., Vol. MTT-36, pp. 1233-1238, Aug. 1988.
  • A. Biswas and V. K. Tripathi, "Modeling of asymmetric and offset gaps in shielded microstrip and slotline," IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Tech., Vol.38, No. 6, pp. 818-822, June 1990
  • S. Lou, A. Biswas, and V. K. Tripathi, "Finline Multiport Coupler," IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Tech., No.12, pp.2207-2215, December, 1994 4. K. Gupta and A. Biswas, "Characterization of off-slot discontinuity in unilateral finline," IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Tech., Vol.34, No.6, pp.1398-1400, June, 1995. 5. K. V. Srivastava, V. V. Mishra and A. Biswas, "A modified Ring Dielectric Resonator with Improved Mode Separation and its Tunability Characteristics in MIC Environment," IEEE Trans. on Microwave Theory and Technique, Vol.53, No. 6, pp. 1960-1967. June 2005

  • Recipient of National Merit Certificate from Govt. of India in school leaving Examination.
  • Recipient of UKERI research award from British Council, UK in 2009 & 2014.
  • Best Student Paper Bronze Award in IEEE Asia-Pacific Conference on Applied Electromagnetics (APACE 2010), 9 - 11 November 2010, Port Dickson, Malaysia for paper entitled "An Investigation on Three Element Multilayer Cylindrical Dielectric Resonator Antenna Excited by a Coaxial Probe for Wideband Applications.", authored by Raghvendra Kumar Chaudhary, Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava and Animesh Biswas. Animesh Biswas
  • Best Paper Award in Session for paper entitled "Design of a Wide-Band Dual Segment Half-split Cylindrical Dielectric Resonator Antenna ", authored by Raghvendra Kumar Chaudhary, S. Bhattacharyya, K. V. Srivastava and Animesh Biswas, in 5th Antenna Test & Measurement Society (ATMS) Conference, 01 - 03 Feb., 2012, Mumbai, India.
  • President Nominee for the Selection Committee of ten New National Institute of Technology


Department of Electrical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Office Phone: 0512-2597137

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Birds at IIT Kanpur
Information for School Children
IITK Radio
Counseling Service