IIT Kanpur to host 56th Convocation on 3rd July; N. R. Narayana Murthy to be Chief Guest


  • A total of 2127 students are getting degrees this time.

  • Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty, Shri N. Chandrasekaran, and Ms. M. C. Mary Kom to get honorary doctorate degrees

  • Awards and prizes will be awarded across various categories including the President’s Gold Medal, and the Director’s Gold Medal.

Kanpur, 30 June, 2023: The Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IITK), is going to host its 56th Convocation on 3rd July, 2023. Mr. N. R. Narayana Murthy, Founder and Chairman emeritus, Infosys, will grace as the chief guest this year. The Convocation Ceremony will commence at the Institute Auditorium, and will be presided over by Dr Radhakrishnan K Koppillil, Chairperson, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Kanpur.

Chief Guest Mr. N. R. Narayana Murthy is a Distinguished Alumnus of IIT Kanpur. He did his M.Tech from IIT Kanpur in 1969. An industrialist and philanthropist, Mr. Murthy is revered for his role in shaping India’s IT industry and fostering its global prominence. His visionary leadership has not only helped Infosys to grow but has also helped India’s entrepreneurial space to flourish. Mr. Murthy's relentless commitment to excellence and social responsibility has garnered him prestigious accolades, including the Padma Vibhushan, Officer of Legion d'honneur from France, CBE from Britain, and the IEEE Founders Medal, among others.

This year, a total of 2127 students are getting degrees, out of which, 236 are from PhD, 15 are from MTech-PhD (Joint Degree), 483 are from MTech, 739 are from BTech, 21 are from MBA, 16 are from MDes, 51 are from MS (by Research), 40 are from PGPEX-VLFM, 1 is from Diploma of IIT (DIIT), 151 are from MSc (2 year course), 18 are from Double Major, 125 are from Dual Degree, 14 are from MS-PD (MS part of the Dual Degree), 149 are from BS, and 68 are from the eMasters degree programs.

In addition to the degrees, various prizes and medals will be given across categories. The President’s Gold Medal will be awarded to Mr. Farzan Adil Byramji from the CSE Dept., the Director’s Gold Medal (4-year UG program) to Ms. Ananya Gupta from the CSE Dept., the Director’s Gold Medal (5-year UG program) to Mr. Lakshay Rastogi from the BSBE Dept., the Ratan Swarup Memorial Prize to Ms. Nandita Gupta from the MSE Dept., and the Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Medal to Mr. Vineeth V from the EE Dept.

The Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa), the highest honorary academic degree granted by IIT Kanpur to honour exemplary achievements by outstanding individuals, will be awarded to three distinguished personalities, Ms. M C Mary Kom (Indian amateur boxer and politician), Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty (Chairperson & Founder, Narayana Health) and Mr. Natarajan Chandrasekaran (Chairperson, Tata Sons).

As per the dress-code is concerned, the IITK administration has proposed cream-colour Kurta, and white pyjamas for male students; while for the female students, cream-colour Kurta, and white churidar or leggings are proposed, along with formal footwear.

The graduating students will be conferred the degrees by the Chairperson, Senate in the event. A second session will be held to distribute the degree certificates in different halls.

About IIT Kanpur:

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur was established on 2nd November 1959 by an Act of Parliament. The institute has a sprawling campus spread over 1055 acres with large pool of academic and research resources spanning across 19 departments, 22 centres, and 3 Interdisciplinary programs in engineering, science, design, humanities, and management disciplines with 540 full-time faculty members and approximately 9000 students. In addition to formal undergraduate and postgraduate courses, the institute has been active in research and development in areas of value to both industry and government.

For more information, visit www.iitk.ac.in.



Birds at IIT Kanpur
Information for School Children
IITK Radio
Counseling Service