Academic Initiatives


Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur today enjoys an enviable stature in the world of academia due to its path-breaking high quality research and exceptionally brilliant faculty who continue to explore new research frontiers and make significant strides in their fields. One of the prime forces behind this success is the Institute’s alumni and well-wishers who from time-to-time have turned their attention towards supporting the institute and contributing generously. A large number of Faculty Chairs, Research Fellowships and Department Grants have been set up primarily because of the huge support received.

Faculty Chairs

Faculty Chairs have been set up to recognise the outstanding achievements of the faculty who enjoy a reputation for excellence in their research areas thus facilitating in their research. They are usually conferred upon a faculty for a period of three years and may get renewed based on his/her performance and interest.


Chairs overview


No. of chairs

45 +

Total no. of past occupants


Currently occupied chairs

Chairs established


Before 2000






2011-till date

Current Chairs

  • Sanjay & Rachna Pradhan
  • Sajani Kumar Roy Memorial Chair
  • Arun Kumar Chair
  • N. C. Nigam Chair
  • U. S. V. Chair
  • Champa Devi Gangwal Chair
  • Rahul and Namita Gautam Chair
  • Ranjit Singh Chair
  • Raj and Neera Singh Chair
  • Pradeep Sindhu Chair
  • Sir M. Visvesvaraya Chair
  • Golden Jubilee Chair on Entrepreneurship and Innovation
  • Poonam and Prabhu Goel Chair
  • Mr. & Mrs. Gain Singh Bindra Memorial Chair
  • N. Rama Rao Chair
  • Ministry of Steel Chair
  • Ram Tiwari Chair
  • Umang Gupta Chair
  • Chevron Corporation Chair
  • Dr. Gurumukh D. Mehta and Veena M. Mehta Chair
  • Gireesh Jankinath Chair
  • KENT Entrepreneurship and Innovation Chair
  • Professor C. V. Seshadri Chair
  • Sanjay Mittal Chair
  • Rajeeva and Sangeeta Lahri Chair
  • Indian Oil Golden Jubilee Professional Chair
  • P. K. Kelkar Chair
  • Sri Jagdeo Narain Gupta and Smt. Murti Devi Gupta Chair
  • Joy Gill Chair
  • Pandit Girish Ranjan & Sushama Rani Pathak Chair
  • Next Generation Broadcasting Faculty Chair
  • H. A. L. Chair
  • Professor S. Sampath Chair
  • Lalit Mohan Kapoor Chair
  • Sri Deva Raj Chair
  • Pandit Ramchandra Dwivedi Chair
  • Jag Mohan Garg Chair
  • Satish Chandra Agarwal Chair
  • Ministry of Labour & Employment Chair
  • S. B. I. Chair
  • Prof. B. B. Lal Chair
Faculty Fellowships

Faculty Fellowships are awarded for a period of three years under two categories (1) Young Faculty Research Fellowships to those who are below the age of 40 years and have made outstanding contribution in their research areas, (2) New Faculty Fellowships to the newly joined young faculty members as special incentives for research and development, setting up laboratories and experimental facilities, buying expensive books, etc.


Fellowships overview


No. of fellowships

73 +

No. of fellows

Fellowships established







Current Fellowships

  • Dr. Shukla New Faculty Fellowship
  • P.K. Kelkar (1982 Batch Fellowship)
  • P.K. Kelkar (1970 Batch Fellowship)
  • J.S. Bindra Fellowship
  • P.K. Kelkar (Class of 1979 Research Fellowship for outstanding young faculty)
  • P.K. Kelkar Fellowship
  • Prof. Arakare Fellowship
  • 1984 Batch Fellowship
  • Sir M Visvesaraya Research Fellowship
Faculty Achievements

Academic fellowship


Indian National Science


Indian Academy of Science


Indian National Academy of Engineering


National Academy of Sciences




National J. C. Bose Fellowship


American Society of Mechanical Engineers


TWAS Fellowship


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics


Career awards


Fulkerson prize


Godel prize


Humboldt Research Award


TWAS prize




Padma Shri


Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar


Infosys prize


Distinguished Industry Professor




Swaranajayanti fellowship


(INSA)- Medal for Young Scientist


(INAE)-Young Engineer Award


International Centre for Theoretical Physics Prize

Department Grants

Department grants are utilized for various academic activities of the 14 existing departments and five interdisciplinary programs such as travel support to faculty and students for attending international conferences, organizing seminars, inviting prominent speakers for guest lectures, etc.


No. of departments


Total no. of research projects

Research Projects -

  • Aerospace Engineering 05
  • Biological Science & Bioengineering 11
  • Civil Engineering 11
  • Chemical Engineering 10
  • Chemistry 05
  • Mechanical Engineering 13
  • Materials Science & Engineering 11
  • Computer Science & Engineering 05
  • Electrical Engineering 11
  • Physics 04
  • Mathematics 01
  • Humanities & Social Sciences 03
  • Industrial & Management Engineering 03
Distinguished Lecture Series

Distinguished lectures series are aimed at inviting brilliant speakers for delivering stimulating lectures on intriguing topics that are of interest to general audience as well. Presently, the institute hosts around 16 of such lecture series.


DLS overview


Total Lecture Series

130 +

Total Lectures Conducted (Till date)

  • P D Murti Memorial Distinguished Lectures (IME)
  • Dr. M.A. Pai Distinguished Lecture Series (EE)
  • Dr. R.S. Pandey Distinguished Lecture Series (ME)
  • Prof. E. C. Subbarao Distinguished Lecture Series
  • Petro Tel Distinguished Lecture Series
  • Jagadishwar Mahanty Distinguished Lecture Series
  • Ramanujam Distinguished Lectures
  • Devendra Shukla Distinguished Lecture Series (CE)
  • Annual Exhibition cum Lecture Series under M.Des. Programme
  • Distinguished Lecture Series in the Department of Chemistry
  • Distinguished Lecture Series in the Department of Physics
  • K.R.Sarma Distinguished Lecture Series
  • Ramachandra Rao Dasari Distinguished Lecture Series (Laser Technology)
  • Prof. C.V. Seshadri Lecture Series
  • Sansonov Memorial International Lecture Series
  • Dr. M. Ramamoorty Distinguished Lecture Series
  • Ranjan Kumar Memorial Lecture Series
  • Prof. CNR Rao Lecture Series
  • Dr. Rajyashree Khushu Lahiri Memorial Lecture Series
  • Prof. Arbindo Nath Bose Bioentrepreneurship Distinguished Lecture Series (BSBE)

Report a site error at