Prof. Bushra Ateeq and Prof. Nitin Saxena from IIT Kanpur elected fellows of Indian National Science Academy (INSA)


  • Prof. Bushra Ateeq has been recognized for her extensive work on cancer research; while Prof. Nitin Saxena has been recognized for his work on algebraic complexities

  • More than 40 faculties from IIT Kanpur have been elected Fellows of the Academy so far

Kanpur, September 16, 2023: In a proud moment for the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IITK), Prof. Bushra Ateeq and Prof. Nitin Saxena have been elected for the prestigious Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Fellowship 2023-24. Established in the year 1935, the academy works for the promotion of science and scientific research in India for the betterment of all. The Fellowship recognizes the research of scientists from diverse fields and supports them to further their research with necessary assistance.

Prof. Bushra Ateeq is a Professor & Joy-Gill Chair Senior Fellow at the Department of Biological Sciences & Bioengineering, IIT Kanpur. She is revered for her extensive work on cancer research. Prof. Nitin Saxena is from the Computer Science & Engineering Department, and is also the founding Coordinator of the Center for Developing Intelligent Systems (CDIS) at IIT Kanpur.

Sharing his delight on the news, Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Director IIT Kanpur, said, “IIT Kanpur’s robust foundation in research and development is made stronger by the consistent efforts by students, researchers and faculty. This prestigious recognition to Prof. Bushra Ateeq and Prof. Nitin Saxena is a testament to that. Prof. Ateeq’s path-breaking work on cancer research is well-revered and Prof. Saxena has done significant work on algebraic complexities. On behalf of the institute, I congratulate them both and I’m sure that this will inspire others to follow suit, as well.”

Prof. Ateeq's research group is predominantly interested in delving into the genetic and epigenetic modifications that trigger the onset and progression of cancer. With innovative strategies and approaches in their quest, the group is working to uncover the molecular processes driving cancer development and resistance to chemotherapeutic drugs. In their announcement, INSA has acknowledged her contributions to cancer research including her research on the role of a peptidase inhibitor, SPINK1 in the progression and drug resistance of Cancer. Dr. Ateeq is the recipient of several accolades, including the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Medical Sciences (2020), the highest Indian science award conferred by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Government of India; Sun Pharma Science Foundation Research Award (2021) in the Medical Sciences - Basic Research category; Elected Fellow (2021) of the Indian Academy of Sciences (IASc), Bangalore; Elected Fellow (2021) of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), to name a few.

Prof. Saxena is also an alumnus of IIT Kanpur. In 2002, he along with his batch mate Neeraj Kayal and mentor Prof. Manindra Agrawal, successfully developed a deterministic polynomial-time algorithm. The trio were awarded the prestigious Gödel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer science, and the Fulkerson Prize, in 2006, for this breakthrough. A current faculty at the institute, Dr. Saxena has done extensive work on developing novel techniques for understanding algebraic independence over fields of small characteristics. INSA, while announcing the Fellows, has also acknowledged his consistent work on bringing in “techniques from several areas to attack the most important problems in algebraic complexity.”

The recognition to Prof. Ateeq and Prof. Saxena adds up to the growing list of Elected INSA Fellows from IIT Kanpur. This bears testimony to the vibrant research and innovation ecosystem thriving at the institute.

About IIT Kanpur:


Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur was established on 2nd November 1959 by an Act of Parliament. The institute has a sprawling campus spread over 1055 acres with large pool of academic and research resources spanning across 19 departments, 22 centres, and 3 Interdisciplinary programs in engineering, science, design, humanities, and management disciplines with more than 540 full-time faculty members and approximately 9000 students. In addition to formal undergraduate and postgraduate courses, the institute has been active in research and development in areas of value to both industry and government.


For more information, visit



Birds at IIT Kanpur
Information for School Children
IITK Radio
Counseling Service