Amit Kumar Agarwal

PhD (IISc Bangalore)

Professor, Department of Physics


Research Interest



  • PhD (2005-09), Center for High Energy Physics, IISc, Bangalore.
    Thesis Title:Transport in quasi-one-dimensional quantum systems.
    Thesis Supervisor: Prof.Diptiman Sen.
  • M.S. (2002-2005), Dept. of Physics, IISc, Bangalore.
    Project Title: Effect of interaction and a static impurity on the conductance of a one dimensional quantum wire.
    Project Advisor: Prof. Diptiman Sen
  • B.Sc. - Physics Honors (1999 - 2002): Kirori Mal College, Delhi University, Delhi.



  • Classical Mechanics, Electromagnetic Theory, Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Many body Physics, Condensed matter theory, Transport in low dimensional systems, Spintronics, Statistical Mechanics, Mathematical Physics etc.


  • K. Sadhukhan, A. Politano, A. Agarwal, Novel Undamped Gapless Plasmon Mode in a Tilted Type-II Dirac Semimetal, Phys. Rev. Lett. 124, 046803 (2020).

  • K. Das and A. Agarwal, Thermal and gravitational chiral anomaly induced magneto-transport in Weyl semimetals, Phys. Rev. Research 2, 013088 (2020).

  • B. Singh, B. Ghosh, C. Su, H. Lin, A. Agarwal, and A. Bansil, Topological Hourglass Dirac Semimetal in the Nonpolar Phase of Ag2BiO3, Phys. Rev. Lett. 121 (22), 226401 (2018).

  • A. Politano, G. Chiarello, B. Ghosh, K. Sadhukhan, C.-N. Kuo, C. S. Lue, V. Pellegrini, and A. Agarwal, 3D Dirac plasmons in type-II Dirac semimetal PtTe2, Phys. Rev. Lett. 121, 086804 (2018). Editor’s suggestion with a ‘PHYSICS’ synopsis.

  • A. Agarwal, M. S. Vitiello, L. Viti, A. Cupolillo, and A. Politano, Plasmonics with two-dimensional semiconductors: from basic research to technological applications, Nanoscale 10, 8938 (2018).


  • The N. S. Satya Murthy Memorial Award in Physics (for 2016, announced in 2018), by the Indian physics association.

  • P. K. Kelker research fellowship award from IIT Kanpur, from 1st May 2017 to 30th April 2020.

  • Junior Associate of the International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), from 1st January 2016 to 31st December 2021.

  • Adjunct faculty position (junior level) for two years (2015-2016) by Harish- Chandra Research Institute (HRI), Allahabad (India).

  • NASI-Young Scientist platinum Jubilee Award for the year 2013, by the National Academy of Science India, Allahabad, India.

  • INSPIRE (Innovation in science pursuit and inspired research) faculty fellowship for the period of 2012-2017, by Indian National Science academy (INSA) and Dept. of Science and Technology (DST), India.

  • Kumari L. A. Meera Memorial Medal (theoretical physics) for 2010 - 11, for the best Ph.D. thesis in Physics and Centre for High Energy Physics combined, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India.

  • Marie Curie postdoctoral fellowship, European Union (Italy), 2009 - 2012.

  • Senior research fellowship by CSIR, India, 2007 - 2009.Junior research fellowship by CSIR, India, 2005 - 2007.Integrated Ph.D. scholarship from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (India), 2002 - 2005.



Department of Physics
IIT Kanpur,
Kanpur 208016

Lab info :Theory and Simulation Lab, Old Core Labs Building, IIT Kanpur

Office Phone: 0512-259-6981 (O)

Email: amitag[AT]

  • Physics, Theoretical physics, Condensed matter, Solid state Physics, Topological materials, Plasmons, Collective excitations, Magneto-transport, Optical properties


Birds at IIT Kanpur
Information for School Children
IITK Radio
Counseling Service