Distinguished Alumnus Awardee 2020

Prof. Mukul M. Sharma (BT/CHE/1980)

Prof. Mukul M. Sharma is a professor and holds the W. A. "Tex" Moncrief, Jr. Centennial Chair in the Hildebrand Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. He has been the faculty at the University of Texas for the past 34 years and served as Chairman of the Department from 2001 to 2005. Prof. Sharma’s research interests include hydraulic fracturing, oilfield water management, formation damage and improved oil recovery. He has published more than 400 journal articles and conference proceedings and has 21 patents. Prof. Sharma founded Austin Geotech Services, an E&P consulting company in 1996. He also co-founded Layline Petroleum in 2006 and Navidad Energy in 2017.

Prof. Sharma’s prolific career made him the recipient of many awards and honors. Apart from being a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, he is also the recipient of the 2017 John Franklin Carll Award and the 2009 Lucas Gold Medal, SPE’s highest technical awards. He has also received 2004 SPE Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award, the 2002 Lester C. Uren Award and the 1998 SPE Formation Evaluation Award. He served as an SPE(Society of Petroleum Engineers) Distinguished Lecturer in 2002, has served on the Editorial Boards of many journals, and is consulted by industries worldwide.

Prof. Sharma holds M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from University of Southern California in 1981 and 1985 respectively. IITK conferred upon Prof. Mukul M. Sharma the Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2020.

Awards and Honors