Primary Faculty


Amitabha Bandyopadhyay


Skeletal development and differentiation.

Arun Kumar Shukla


Structural biology; cellular signaling; combinatorial biology

Ashok Kumar


Downstream processing; affinity interactions and cell separations; nanotechnology; biomaterials; tissue engineering

Ashwani Kumar Thakur


Protein aggregation in diseases and therapeutic design; self assembly of proteins; biopharmaceuticals

Bushra Ateeq


Molecular oncology and cancer therapeutics

Dhirendra S. Katti (Head)


Tissue engineering; controlled drug delivery system; biomaterials

Dibyendu K. Das 


Single molecule imaging; optical tweezers; virology and immunology

Ganesh, S


Neurobiology of disorders, stress biology, and human genetics

Hamim Zafar (jointly with CSE)


Computational biology; probabilistic modeling; single-cell biology; evolution and cancer

Jayandharan G. Rao


Gene therapy, Human molecular genetics

Jonaki Sen


Vertebrate neuronal development

Mainak Das



Nitin Gupta


Neuroscience, insect olfaction, computational biology, digital interventions for mental health

Nitin Mohan 


Optical engineering; super-resolution microscopy; applications in neurodegenerative disorders, lysosomal storage disease & cancer

Pradip Sinha


Drosophila cancer genetics and therapeutics

Sankararamakrishnan, R.


Modeling and simulation of biomolecules; bioinformatics

Santosh K. Misra


Biosensors, personalized medicine, bubble therapy, 3D-printed biomedical devices, carbon composites, drug delivery systems, nanocomposites.

Saravanan Matheshwaran


Chromatin dynamics and DNA repair


Former Faculty


Anupam Pal 


Years of service at BSBE: 2006-2012.

Subramaniam, K.


Years of service at BSBE: 2002-2015. Now at IITM.

Balaji Prakash


Years of service at BSBE: 2002-2016. Now at CFTRI, Mysore.