Earth Sciences

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Slide background


PG course manual

TABLE 1: Course structure and distribution of credits in M. Tech. Program
Minimum Total CreditsMin. Credit Through Course WorkMin. Credit Through ResearchMin. Number of CoursesMin. DurationMax. Duration
144 72 72 08 4 Semesters 4 years
TABLE 2: Course structure and distribution of credits in Ph.D. Program
Academic ProgramMin. Credit RequirementsMin. Credit Through CourseworkMin. Credit Through Research workMinimum DurationMaximum Duration
Ph.D. with M.Tech 144 36 (4 courses) 108 4 semesters 6 years
Ph.D. with master's degree except M.Tech 180 54 (6 courses) 126 5 semesters 6 years
Ph.D. with bachelor's degree 216 72 (8 courses) 144 6 semesters 7 years

There are two compulsory courses for Ph.D. students:

  • Introduction to profession and communication skills in Earth Sciences.
  • PG Seminar in Earth Sciences.

The Ph.D. students should opt only for PG-level courses.

They may opt for courses in other departments based on the supervisor’s

Ph.D. students must finish with the required course credits and CPI (>7.0) before appearing for the Comprehensive examination.

Note: These are minimum requirements.

Note: One can also opt for S/X mode and/or Audit mode courses.


*A student is required to register for semester-I , Semester –II and Summer term for each academic year.

*The normal semester load is defined as equivalent of 36 credits. For a well merited case the SPGC may permit a student to register for a maximum of 45 credits or a minimum of 27 credits.

*A student is required to register in the summer term for up to a maximum of half the normal semester load (i.e., 18 credits) and a minimum of 9 credits.

Registration involves –

  • Preregistration through PINGALA portal for the courses/thesis credits that he/she intends to pursue in that semester/term.
  • Payment of fees for that semester/term and clearance of any outstanding dues, and signing the registration roll with the office of the Dean of Students Affairs (DOAA).
TABLE 4: Semester wise course distribution for M.Tech degree
Semester I (4x9=36 credits)
C1: Mathematics for Earth Sciences.
C2: Remote Sensing & GIS for Geo-resource evaluation.
C3: Introduction to Profession & Communication Skills in Earth Sciences.
E1: Elective
E2: Elective
Semester II (4x9 = 36 credits)
C4: Geophysical methods.
C5: PG seminar in Earth Sciences.
E3: Elective
E4: Elective
E5: Elective
Semester III (36 credits)
M TECH THESIS (36 credits)
Semester IV (36 credits)
M TECH THESIS (36 credits)

*C: Compulsory Course, E: Elective Course

MTech students should register for the course (PG seminar in Earth Sciences) for at least one semester, and Ph.D. students should register for two semesters.

TABLE 5: List of offered Elective Courses

1. Active Tectonics and Paleoseismology

2. Advanced Structural Geology

3. Advance Metamorphic Petrology

4. Applied Hydrogeology

5. Applied sedimentology and Basin Analysis

6. Aqueous Geochemistry

7. Experimental Rock mechanics and Rock physics

8. Geodynamics

9. Geology and Geochemistry of petroleum

10. Instrumentation in Earth Sciences

11. Isotope Geochemistry and Applications

12. Mineral Resource Exploration

13. Natural Hazards

14. Non-Traditional Stable Isotope Geochemistry

15. Physics of Earthquakes

16. Planetary Geomorphology: Processes and Landforms

17. Potential field theory in applied geophysics

18. River Science

19. Rock Magnetism

20. Seismic Exploration & Subsurface Imaging.

21. Solid Earth Geophysics

22. Quaternary Geology and Tectonic Geomorphology

* Ph.D. students can take any courses mentioned above as per their availability in the course schedule.