Dr. J. Ramkumar

Professor (HAG) and DPGC

Micro/Nano Manufacturing and New product/process development, Tribology, composite, Manufacturing Process modelling, Medical Device Development


Ph.D., IIT Madras


With an illustrious career spanning over two decades in research, academia, and industry, Prof. Ramkumar's remarkable contributions to highly accurate micro/nano machining processes have shaped cutting-edge defense systems. His work has left an indelible mark, from revolutionary metamaterials to advanced aerospace and missile components. As a dedicated researcher, he focuses on empathy-driven studies to improve the lives of the less fortunate, spearheading assistive technologies for disabilities and revolutionizing Agritech. His research journey at IIT Kanpur harmoniously merges teaching and learning, producing innovative solutions for increased product efficiency and reduced environmental impact. Prof. Ramkumar's brainchild projects provide an ecosystem catering to students, scholars, and projects nationwide. He has mentored over 15 successful start-ups, exhibited frugal innovation during the Covid pandemic, and shared knowledge through twelve MOOCs courses and numerous workshops. With 350+ articles, 5000+ citations, an h-index of 38, 89 patents & leading projects worth Rs. 22 Crores, his devotion & contributions to the research community are remarkable. His ingenuity has made his name synonymous with Manufacturing Engineering in the research community, honoring his unwavering commitment to excellence and advancement in academia and engineering.


2022 - Fellow of INAE by Indian National Academy of Engineering
2022 - Satish Chandra Agarwal Chair Professor by IIT Kanpur
2022 - Eminent Production Engineer Award by Indian Institute of Production Engineering
2021 - IETE- Shri Devi Singh Memorial Award by Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers, India
2021 - IEI BLC-FCRIT Excellence Award Research Excellence (Faculty-National) by The Institution of Engineers (India) Belapur Local Center & F. C. Rodrigues Institute of Technology, Vashi
2020 - SITARE GYTI Award (Students Innovations for Translation & Advancement of Research Explorations, Gandhian Young Technological Innovation Awards) by Society for Research and Initiatives for Sustainable Technologies and Institutions
2019 - Outstanding Volunteer Award by Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
2019 - Eminent Engineer Award by Indian Institute of Production Engineering
2018 - Award of Excellence by Indian Technology Congress, NIMHANS Convention Centre, Bengaluru, India
2018 - Bestowed upon Honorary Professor at Amity Institute of Information Technology, U.P.
2017 - Outstanding Scientist for the contribution and achievement in the field of mechanical engineering.Venue:International Foundation, India
2017 - Bharat Vikas Award for the contribution in the field of developing new products for inclusive society, Institute of self reliance, India
2017 - Ram Tiwari chair of I.I.T. Kanpur, from 2017-2020
2016 - Invitation for Young Alumni Achiever Award - 2016, NIT Trichy
2015 - Eminent Mechanical Engineer Award
2015 - Gopal Das Bhandari Memorial Distinguished Teacher Award
2015 - National Design Award in Mechanical Engineering - 2015
2015 - Prashamana: A smart hospital bed” Gandhian Young Technological Innovation (GYTI) appreciation certificate at the Rashtrapati Bhavan
2015 - Best paper award in Production Engineering Division prize - 2015 - The institution of Engineers (India)
2011 - Class of 1984 fellowship award from 2012-2015
2011 - IEI Young Engineers Award 2011
2010 - Rajkumar Varshney Awards - System Society of India
2007 - Young Scientist Award - Dept. of Atomic Energy, India
2007 - Young Scientist Award - Engineering Science Division - Indian Science Congress Association
2004 - Fast Track DST Young Scientist Award - Dpt. of Science & Technology
2004 - Innovation Potential of Student Projects Awards - Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)
2000 - Dr. S. Vaidyanathan Memorial Award for best out going Master student
2000 - Gold medalist in M. Tech, IIT Madras
1996 - Best outing B.E(Prod) student NIT Trichy