Dr. Nachiketa Tiwari

Professor and Head of Department

Product Design, Acoustics and Noise Control, Solid Mechanics, Composite Structures, Vibrations, Automotive Systems, MEMS


Ph.D. (Virginia Tech), MBA (Babson College), MTech (IIT Kanpur), BTech (Univ of Rajasthan)


1996 - 1998 - Benchmark Applications Engineer, PTC, Waltham

1998 - 2004 - Senior Mechanical & Acoustic Engineer, Bose Corporation

2004 - 2008 - Engineering Manager - II, Bose Corporation

2008 - 2009 - Product Category Planning Manager, Bose Corporation

2009 - 2010 - Visiting Faculty, IIT Kanpur

2010 - 2018 - Associate Professor, IIT Kanpur

2018 - present - Professor, IIT Kanpur

2020 - 2022 - Head, Design Program, IIT Kanpur

2022 - present - Head, Department of Design, IIT Kanpur


Member, Advisory Board, J. of Development Research, 2022 onwards

Associate Editor, J. of Vibration Engineering and Technologies, 2020 onwards

Made Presentation in Rajya Sabha Standing Committee on History Textbooks, 2021.

Member, Establishment Committee of NCERT, 2021.

Chairman of NET Committee, 2022, 2023

Expert Member on NET Committee setup by UGC, 2021.

Elected Life Fellow, Acoustical Society of India

Rais Memorial Award Lecture at National Symposium on Acoustics, 2019.

Member, Management Council, Nagpur University.

Member, Board of Studies for several universities including JNU, Delhi University, BHU

MSU Vadodara, Bombay University, Central University of Himachal Pradesh

Visitor’s (President of India’s) Nominee on Executive Council of BHU (till 2018)

Visitor’s (President of India’s) Nominee on Selection Committee for Central University of Kashmir

Member, Central Pollution Control Board’s National panel on noise regulation (term over in 2016)

Member, Board of Higher Technical Education, UP Government

Member, Board of Governors, World College of Technology and Management

Five times recipient of Letter from IITK Director “exemplary” teaching courses

Life Member, SAE

Published an article in India Today on Higher Education Policy in 2015.

Invited lecture in National Symposium of Acoustic 2014

Invited lecture in National Symposium of Acoustic 2011

Invited lecture in National Symposium of Acoustic 2009

Awarded Summa-cum-laude during MBA program by Babson College

Member of Phi Kappa Honor Society

Recipient of CCMS Industrial Affiliate Fellowship

President of Council of International Student Organizations (1995-96)

Member of Order of the Gavel as a prominent student leader at Tech Campus

Member of Commission of Student Affairs of Virginia Tech

Member of Graduate Regranting Budget Board of Virginia Tech

Best B. Tech Project Award

Editor of high school and university magazines