Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

The Department is extremely proud of its alumni and their excellence both in industry and academia. Recently, the first step in preparation of a list IIT Kanpur Chemistry Alumni Directory has been undertaken. If you are an alumnus of this department, we would like to hear from you.

  • Prof. P. Balaram, Director, IISc Bangalore
  • Dr. S. Sivaram, Former Director, NCL Pune
  • Prof. T. K. Chakraborty, IISc (Former Director, CDRI, Lucknow)
  • Dr. Sourav Pal, Director, Director, NCL Pune
  • Prof. E. D. Jemmis, Former Director, IISER Trivandrum
  • Prof. A. Sen, Penn State University, USA
  • Dr. Pushpito Ghosh, Director, CSMCRI Bhavnagar
  • Prof. K. D. Sen, University of Hyderabad
  • Prof. A. K. Singh, Vice Chancellor, Allahabad University
  • Prof. U. Maitra, IISc Bangalore
  • Prof. R. Varadarajan, IISc Bangalore
  • Prof. P. V. Ramachandran, Purdue Univ, USA
  • Prof. A. Ghosh, Purdue Univ, USA
  • Dr. Amitabha Chattopadhyay, CCMB, Hyderabad
  • Prof. S. Ramasesha, IISc Bangalore
  • Prof. A. K. Shukla, Former Director, CECRI Karaikudi
  • Prof. Ravinder Reddy, Director, CMORI, Penn State University, USA
  • Prof. Chandra Verma, A‐STAR, Singapore
  • Dr. Sajan Joseph, Eli Lilly Laboratories
  • Dr. Shahid Jameel, CEO, Wellcome‐DBT India Alliance, Hyderabad

You can access our alumni database online at Alumni Database Form. If you have any questions or would like to visit the department, please send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Generous funds from our alumni has led to the establishment of the Alumni Lecture Series which is an annual event. The aim is to invite distinguished scientists in the field of Chemistry (and borderline areas as well) to spend some time at the department, give lectures and interact with the students/faculty. The first of these endowment lectures was delivered by Prof. D. Balasubramanian