Shri Jagdeo Narain Gupta & Smt. Murti Devi Gupta Chair

Mr. Jitendra Nath Gupta (BT/EE/1977) is the Executive Director, Securities and Exchange Board of India in Mumbai. Prior to this, Mr. Gupta has served as the Group CFO of Kazstroy Service Group. Mr. Gupta has held senior positions in State Bank of India, Grasim Industries Limited, Indo Gulf Fertilisers and Kazstroy Service Group and has worked in SEBI from July 1994 to July 1996. A B.Tech in Electrical Engineering from IIT, Kanpur, Mr. Gupta also holds qualifications in CAIIB and Certified Financial Analyst (CFA).
Mr. Gupta instituted Shri Jagdeo Narain Gupta & Smt. Murti Devi Gupta Chair in memory of his parents. The Chair is open to all departments of Sciences and Engineering and can be occupied for a period of three years.


Past Occupant

Prof. Shankar Prasad Rath

May 2017 - May 2020

Prof. Shankar Prasad Rath, Department of Chemistry, specializes in the area of Bio-inorganic Chemistry. His research focuses on understanding the structure-function-reactivity relationships of heme proteins (both mono and multi-heme centers) by the study of model hemes. Prof. Rath is also involved in working on the binding and activation of small molecules, electron transfer and probing molecular chirality using Exciton Coupled Circular Dichroism (ECCD). Prof. Rath is the recipient of many prestigious awards and honours - Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2020), C.N.R.Rao National Prize in Chemical Sciences (2018), Fellow of National Academy of Sciences (2017) to name a few. Prof. Rath earned his doctorate from the Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur (1999)