Senate Under-Graduate Committee (SUGC)


The Senate Under-Graduate Committee (SUGC) is a standing committee of the Senate. The Senate manual prescribes the constitution of SUGC, and also the process of election of its
Chairperson. The Chairperson of the SUGC convenes and presides over the meetings.The SUGC has jurisdiction in the following matters concerning the undergraduate programmes of the Institute:

  • approval of new courses of instruction,

  • desirable modifications of courses already approved,

  • credit valuation of courses,

  • approval of the admission of first year students and others with advance standing,

  • recommending grant of degrees,

  • policy matters related to examinations,

  • evaluation of academic performance, and

  • such other related matters as may be referred to it by the Senate.

Functions of the SUGC consist primarily of general policy determination, coordination and review, but, the Senate retains the power of final review and decides such matters as may be brought in appeal before it. In discharging its responsibilities, the SUGC shall make full use of the appraisals and recommendations of the various academic departments concerned.The SUGC has two standing sub-committees, namely Core Curriculum Committee (CCC) and Academic Performance Evaluation Committee (APEC), and is assisted by the Departmental Under-Graduate Committees (DUGCs). TheChairperson of SUGC nominates the Chairpersons of both CCC and APEC. These Chairpersons, in consultation with the SUGC Chairperson, form their respective committees consisting of five faculty members drawn from amongst the SUGC members. The CCC oversees the core curriculum, coordinates its various facets and performs all other relevant functions. The APEC evaluates the academic performance of the undergraduate students to make recommendations regarding
(i) their further programme of studies and
(ii) action to be taken in the case of deficient students.

Both these committees make their recommendations to the SUGC.

The Department Under-Graduate Committee (DUGC) consists of a convener (a faculty, nominated by the Head of the Department in consultation with the faculty of the Department), the Head of the Department, a minimum of four (4) and a maximum of eight (8) faculty members, and two student representatives (chosen by undergraduate students of the Department) for a period of one year. The tenure of the faculty members shall be two years, half of them retiring each year. In the first year, lots will be drawn to decide on the retiring members. The Department Undergraduate Committee (DUGC) advises the students in their academic programmes and makes recommendations to the SUGC in all academic matters.