| Home    | About Us |     | Contact Us|   
    ME People
Staff & Students

    Other Info


One of the founding departments of IIT Kanpur, the Mechanical Engineering Department played a leading role in evolving an 'Engineering Science' based curriculum, and served as a role model for many academic institutes in the country. Over the years, interaction with industry and the emphasis on applied engineering has increased. Two major mission projects, from Railways and Department of Atomic Energy respectively, are currently in progress. Working groups on sensors and actuators, microengineering, applied mechanics and futuristic energy technology have been constituted.

Important information for candidates who have applied for admission to the PhD and MTech programmes of our department

  • Click here for the List of candidates shortlisted for admission to the MTech programme, 2014.

  • List of selected candidates to the PhD programme.

  • Last year, we followed a direct admission policy to the MTech programme. The selection criterion was based on 80% weight to GATE score+20% to BTech performance. A bonus of 2 points was awarded to students from CFTIs and 3 points to those from IITs. Based on this formula, the cut off marks were 30.3 for ST, 51 for SC, 61 for OBC and 67 for General candidates. Note that the above marks are indicative and the formula may be changed this year.

Prof. V K Jain has been appointed as an Editor-in-Chief of the "International Journal of Precision Technology" being published by Inderscience Publishers Pvt. Ltd. (UK).

Prof. Kamal K. Kar (ME and MSP) has been appointed as associate editor in an international journal on multidisciplinary materials research "Materials Express" published by American Scientific Publishers.




 Employment Opportunities

 PhD/M.Tech Admission

 Minor for B.Tech

 Application for Minor

 Information on BT-MT Dual Degree Program (New-ARC)

 Information on Dual Major Program (New-ARC)


Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur 208016. Uttar Pradesh, India.

Copyright © 2009– 2010 Mechanical Engineering Department, All rights reserved.