IIT Kanpur

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur) is one of the world's leading technical institutions, established in 1959 by the Government of India and a consortium of nine American universities. Since its inception, the institute's aim has been to provide meaningful education, conduct original research of the highest standard, and serve as a leader for the development of this nation. The institute's vision is to become an international center of excellence in all facets of technical and management education by being a melting pot of academia, industry, and research while remaining firmly rooted in Indian ethos and societal values. Presently, IIT Kanpur has a 1055-acre residential campus with approximately 4000 undergraduate students, 2500 postgraduate students, and over 500 faculty members. The institute has made special efforts to recruit talented faculty from around the world, and it admits students from all over the country through a rigorous selection process. Additional information about IIT Kanpur can be obtained from

Department of HSS

Introduction to Logic being taught by a faculty member from the Mathematics Department, History of Science and Engineering taught as a course in Linguistics by a team of faculty members from the Humanities, Physics and Electrical Engineering Departments – this sums up the philosophy of the Humanities and Social Sciences Department at IIT Kanpur.
The Department started with English, Economics, Philosophy, Psychology and Sociology as the constituent disciplines. The first set of permanent faculty members in HSS were appointed in early 1962, one each in Sociology, Psychology and English. The Department had complete freedom to design and teach courses, and was also given liberal funds to develop a library.
The Department started a Ph.D. programme in Philosophy as early as 1965. By the late 1970s, the faculty strength rose to 32 and gradually Ph.D. programme was initiated in all the other disciplines. The last discipline to join the Ph.D. programme was Fine Arts. Currently (in 2021), there are 115 Ph.D. students in the Department. The Department also started an M.Phil. programme in 1980 which was discontinued after one year. Click here to know more! .