Sports and Physical Education Committee (SPEC)


Present SPEC Members

Prof. P. M. Mohite
Department of Aerospace Engineering



Prof. Tarun Kanti Ghosh
Department of Physics
Email: tkghosh[AT]



Prof.Indra Sekhar Sen
Department of Earth Science
Email: isen[AT]



Mr. Vinod Malik
AR, DOSA Office



Mr Ram Narain
APEO,Physical Education Section
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Mrs Anjani Dubey
PTI,Physical Education Section



Mrs Seema Yadav
Jr.Asst.Department of Mathematics and Statistics




Sports and Physical education Committee (SPEC) is responsible for all management and
executive matters related to sports and the Physical Education Section.
The committee consists of the following members with the provision that they may coopt
2 more members:
1. Games Counselor
2. Chairman, swimming Pool Management Committee
3. Three more faculty/staff members
4. Supt. engineer/ Executive Engineer
5. Sports Secretary, Student Gymkhana
6. One coaching representative
7. AR (from DOSA office)

The duties of the committee are the following:

1. Oversee the conduct of sports activities, preparation of teams for inter IIT meet, etc.
2. Oversee the conduct of PE 101 and 102 classes and award grades.
3. All administrative issues including financial and manpower budgeting, disbursement,
logistics, purchase of equipment, work assignment, etc.
4. All planning issues including future requirement of sports facilities, optimum use of
the current facilities, vision of sports at IIT K etc.
5. Decisions on upkeep.

Present SPEC:

1. Prof. Syam Nair, Chairman SPEC
2. Prof. P.M. Mohite, Chairman SMC, Member
2. Prof. Arbinda K. Lal, Games Counselor, Member
3. Prof. Tarun Kanti Gosh, Member
4. Prof. Indra S. Sen, Member
5. Mr. Vinod Malik, AR(DOSA), Member
6. Mr. Ram Narain, APEO, Special Invitee
7. Mrs. Anjani Dubey, PTI, Coaches’ Representative, Member
8. Ms. Seema Yadav, Member
9. Mr. Jaspreet Singh, Gen. Secy. Games & Sports, Member





Past Chairman SPEC


Dr. C.S. Upadhyay (AE)
(05-02-2009 to 28-03-2010)


Dr. P. Shunmugaraj (Maths)
(31-03-2010 to 31-03-2013)


Dr. N.R. Patra (Civil)
(01-04-2013 to 31-03-2017)


Dr. Debajyoti Paul (ES)
(01-04-2017 to 31-03-2019)