Eligibility Requirements for the DIIT Program

The eligibility for the DIIT Program is the same as that for our M.Tech/M.S. (Research) Programme, which includes the following.

  • Bachelor’s degree in Civil / Mining / Electrical / Computer Science / Electronics Engineering / Information Technology / Geoinformatics, or
  • Master of Science in Earth Science and related areas or Geography / Physics/ Mathematics/ Environmental Sciences. Candidates with MSc degree must have mathematics as one of the subjects at BSc level.

For the DIIT program, the GATE requirement may be waived. However, preference will be given to working professionals in Government department/institutions, Industry, Faculty members in Academic Institutions involved in teaching and R&D in    Geoinformatics.

The DIIT program covers a minimum of 72 credits comprising coursework in the first and second semesters (36 x 2) and research work (18) though summer term projects. The coursework comprises compulsory and elective courses into three specializations, namely, Geodesy, Navigation and Mapping, and Remote Sensing/GIS.