Indian Institute of Technology Senate Scholarships and Prizes Committee

Minutes of the Meeting Held on the 19 th Oct. 2016, 5 pm, DOSA Conf. Room

To

Members of SSPC

Members Present:

Dr. Nisanth N. Nair, Dr. Ashu Jain (Special Invitee), Dr. Arnab Bhattacharya (Special Invitee), Dr. Ashish Garg, Dr. Amit Dutta, Ms Shivangi Tiwari, Mr. Prakash M. Patel

Agenda Items:

Item 1. MCM Scholarship:

a) Requests of late applicants & change in dates

It was decided that no late applications will be entertained for the MCM scholarship, following the decisions taken by the previous SSPC regarding this matter. It was also decided to announce the dates of the forthcoming year's calls online, well in advance.

b) Issues with the Tuition fee information for the 2016 batch.

DOSA office will be requested to provide us with exact information of tuition fees for every student.

Item 2. Centre sector scholarship: selection criteria for Masters and Bachelor students

Only bachelor students will be considered (as per the AIR and income). Scholarship will be open to both BTech and BS students.

Item 3. CPI based evaluation for merit scholarships (concern by Prof. Harbola):

Committee agreed with the concern raised by Prof. Harbola that a CPI based evaluation for the merit scholarship doesn't allow for a fair comparison among students registered with varying credits (either due to course drop/low load). Currently, CPI is used for merit based awards with total number of credits used as one of the criteria to break the tie. However, some members felt that a total credit based evaluation would be more appropriate for the Academic Excellence Awards. However, this matter has to be discussed with DOAA and SUGC, and will be taken to the Senate for further discussions/approvals. The chairman SSPC will discuss this matter with DOAA and SUGC, and if required sub committees will be formed.

Item 4. Donor Scholarships: announcement, submission and processing dates to be fixed.

The deadline for receiving the applications is fixed as Nov. 11, 2016, and announcement of the scholarships will be made by the SSPC office as early as possible.

Yours sincerely, Nisanth N. Nair Chairperson, SSPC