Advisory Committee

Patron Prof. S. G. Dhande, Director, IIT Kanpur

Chairman Prof. K. Muralidhar, DORD, IIT Kanpur

Co-chairmen

Prof. N K Sharma, Head, IME Prof. A K Chaturvedi, Head, Electrical Engg. Prof. Goutam Deo, Head, Chemical Engineering Prof. Dipak Mazumdar, Head, MME Prof. N S Vyas, Head, Mechanical Engineering Prof. S Kamle, Head, Aerospace Engineering

Conclave Organizing Committee

Chair Dr. Anoop Singh, IME, IITK

Co-Chair Dr. Sameer Khandekar, ME, IITK

Chair - Finance Dr. Avinash Kumar Agarwal, ME, IITK

Symposium Organizing Committee Dr. Anoop Singh (Convener) Dr. Praveen Kushrashtha

Technical Advisory Committee

Prof. V Ranganathan, IIM Bangalore Shri Alok Kumar, Central Elec. Reg. Comm. Shri Rajesh Mediratta, India Energy Exchange Prof. S C Srivastava, IIT Kanpur Prof. S N Singh IIT Kanpur Dr. Subhes Bhattacharya, University of Dundee

Convener

Dr. Anoop Singh

Department of Industrial & Management Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Kanpur (India) 208 016

Contact Details

Phone: + 91 – 512 – 259 7679; Fax: + 91 – 512 – 259 7553; E-mail: regulation@iitk.ac.in

Energy Conclave 2010 - Events

8 Jan. New Paradigms for Energy Policy and Regulation 9 Jan. Civilian Nuclear Energy 10-12 Jan. Advances in Combustion and Transportation 13 Jan. Photovoltaic Science and Technology 14 Jan. Hydrogen & Energy Storage 15 Jan. Smart Energy Delivery Systems

Participants interested to register in more than one event of the conclave may visit its website for registration details including applicable fee.

Conclave Website

Please visit conclave website for downloading brochure, registration form and updates

http://www.iitk.ac.in/GLEC2010



Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur



"Energy Conclave 2010"

International Symposium on

'New Paradigms for Energy Policy and Regulation'

January 8, 2010



Introduction

The growth of the Indian economy in the near future requires substantial growth in energy supply. There is a need to enhance investment, to improve efficiency along the supply chain of energy and to bring in economic efficiency in the sector. Policy and regulatory framework plays a key role in achieving these objectives. The existing and emerging challenges in the Indian energy sector needs local solutions with insights from global experience. The regulatory institutions and policy makers have a key role to play in this direction.

This international symposium, a part of the Energy Conclave 2010, brings together national and international experts of repute. These include academicians and accomplished renowned practitioners. The symposium provides a platform for debating new paradigms for energy policy and regulation in the country.

Agenda

The agenda includes key issues covering policy and regulation across power, coal, oil & gas, renewable energy and climate change. It is proposed to cover the following issues,

- 1. Towards a framework for pricing in the energy sector
- 2. New paradigms for regulating power sector
- 3. A multi-sector energy regulator
- 4. Competition and choice in electricity
- 5. A market for energy efficiency in India
- 6. National Action Plan on Climate Change
- 7. Renewable energy: a new regulatory approach

Roundtable 1: Multi-Sector Regulator Roundtable 2: Energy Policy and Climate Change

Who Should Attend

Academicians, regulators, senior officers from regulatory commissions, corporate entities in the energy sector - power, oil & gas, coal, renewable etc. banks, financial institutions, concerned government officials, equipment manufacturers, contractors, consultants, research scholars as well as students.

Lead Speakers

The lead speakers for the symposium include leading practitioners and academicians from renowned institutions within and outside the country. Some of the lead speakers invited for the symposium include

- Dr. Kirit S. Parikh, Former Member, Planning Commission
- Dr. Jayant Sathaye, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory, USA
- Mr. Scott Hempling, Executive Director, National Regulatory Research Institute, USA
- Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairman, CERC
- Shri L. Mansingh, Chairperson, Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board
- Prof. Ajay Pande, IIM Ahmedabad
- Dr. Ajay Mathur, Director General, BEE
- Dr. Sudhir Sharma, UNFCCC, Bonn
- Dr. Anoop Singh, IIT Kanpur

Schedule and Venue

Schedule: January 8, 2010 Venue: Outreach Center Auditorium, IITK For logistical details, please see conclave website

Registration Fee Structure

Category	Registration Fee
Academic Institutions	Rs. 2000 (Rs. 3000)
Corporate/ Regulatory	Rs. 4000 (Rs. 5000)
Institutions/ R & D Orgns.	
Students	Rs. 500 (Rs. 800)
Students (Accepted Posters)	NIL

Note: Fee within parenthesis would be applicable after 25 Dec. 2009. Registration fee includes a kit and meals during the registered event. Participants need to pay for their lodging and travel expenses. Registration details and form can also be accessed from http://www.iitk.ac.in/GJEC2010

Win Prizes in Poster Competition

Entries are invited from researchers, graduate and postgraduate students including research scholars for posters based on a research work. These could be related to the broad theme of the event. Visit conclave website for guidelines for poster submission and prizes.

DD/Cheque No. _____ Dated: _____ Amount Rs. _____ Drawn on _____

Pay by DD/multi-city cheque in favour of "Director, IIT Kanpur" payable at Kanpur. Please write your name and event name on the back side of DD/Cheque. If you also wish to register for other events during the Conclave, please get registration form from the conclave website.

Category

□ Students □ Academic Institutions

Corporate / Regulatory Institutions / R&D Organisation

(Signature of Participant) Note: Students should get the form countersigned from the head of the institution/ Department

REGISTRATION FORM "Energy Conclave 2010" International Symposium on "New Paradigms for Energy Policy and Regulation" January 8, 2010 Name: _____ Designation: Organisation: Gender (for accommodation): _M / F_ Accommodation Required: Y / N Correspondence Address: _____ _____PIN: _____ Phone: ______ Fax: _____ E-mail:_____ Qualification:_____ Experience (years):_____

Please send this form along with DD to

Dr. Avinash Agarwal Finance - Chair, Energy Conclave 2010 Department of Mechanical Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Kanpur (UP) - 208016