

Photonics-2016



Dec. 04 – 08, 2016 Venue: IIT Kanpur

International Conference on Fiber Optics and Photonics (PHOTONICS) is a premier conference in the area of Photonic science and technology. PHOTONICS-2016 is the thirteenth biennial international conference that will be held at IIT Kanpur from Dec. 04 – 08, 2016. The conclusion of the International Year of Light-2015 (IYL-2015) has significantly impacted scientific, industrial and academic communities in terms of awareness about how light-based technologies influence our daily lives including enabling instant access to the Internet. PHOTONICS-2016 would continue to focus on this theme and extend its reach through deeper penetration amongst students and young researchers. The program will include pre-conference short courses to be delivered by well-known experts on emerging topics in Optics and Photonics. This will provide an opportunity to discover recent technical advances, promote information exchange and ideas towards innovations through interaction with research and technology pioneers from across the globe.

Students are encouraged to submit papers with newest research results for possible acceptance after peer review and compete for several student awards on offer.

Patron

Prof. Indranil Manna Director, IIT Kanpur

General Chair & Convener

Prof. Debabrata Goswami IIT Kanpur

Co-convener

Dr. Rajeev Gupta IIT Kanpur

Treasurer

Dr. Pradeep Kumar K. IIT Kanpur

International Advisory Committee (to be updated)

- Alan E. Willner
- Ajoy Ghatak
- Anurag Sharma
- Benjamin Eggleton
- Bishnu P. Pal
- Claude Fabre
- Dwayne Miller
- David Payne
- Eric Van Stryland
- Girish S. Agrawal
- Robert Boyd
- Shaul Muckamel
- Warren S. Warren

Major topics to be covered in the conference are:

- Bio-photonics
- Integrated Optics
- Optical Fiber Communication
- Optical Fiber Devices & Sensors
- Quantum Optics
- Attosecond Phenomena
- Green Photonics
- Photonic Crystals

- Active, Adaptive and Diffractive Optics
- Lasers and Nonlinear Optics
- Specialty Fibers and Graphene Photonics
- Photonics Modeling
- Tera-Hertz Science & Technology
- Plasmonics, Nanophotonics & Metamaterials
- Super-resolution Microscopy
- Single Molecule Spectroscopy

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, the organizing institute for *PHOTONICS-2016*, is one of the premier research and educational institutes, established in 1959 by the Government of India as an Institute of National Importance. It is located on the Grand Trunk Road, 15 km west of Kanpur City at a picturesque location towards the Ganges river in Uttar Pradesh.

Technical Committee (to be confirmed)

- Anindya Datta
- Alex Gaeta
- A. Gomes
- A. Jhujhunwala
- Atul Srivastava
- Balaji Srinivasan
- B.P. Singh
- D. Mathur
- D.N. Rao
- G.R. Kumar
- K. Bhattacharya
- K. Khare
- M. Krishnamurthy
- M. Motzcus
- P.K. Das

- Prasanta K. Datta
- P.K. Gupta
- P. Pal
- P. Radhakrishnan
- R. Kashyap
- R.K. Sinha
- S. Ramachandran
- S.K. Bhadra
- S. Khijwania
- Suresh Nair
- S.K. Ray
- S.K. Varshney
- S. Umapathy
- T. Srinivas
- Trevor Smith

Local Organizing Committee (IITK)

- Amalendu Chandra
- Animangshu Ghatak
- A.K. Agarwal
- Anand Kumar Jha
- Asima Pradhan
- Arun K. Saha
- A.R. Harish
- Bharat Lohani
- B.V. Phani
- G. Rajshekhar
- H. Wanare
- K. Muralidhar
- K. Srihari
- J. Ramkumar
- M. Chandra

- Naren Naik
- Neeraj Misra
- P.K. Panigrahi
- Pratik Sen
- R. Vijaya
- S.A. Ramakrishna
- Saikat Ghosh
- Shilpi Gupta
- Siddhartha Panda
- Saurabh M. Tripathi
- S. Sivakumar
- Sandeep Verma
- T. Gopakumar
- Tanmoy Maiti
- Y.N. Singh

Please visit http://www.iitk.ac.in/photonics2016/ for Registration & Manuscript submission Contact: photonics2016iitk@gmail.com

