Quality Assurance in Higher Technical Education
Indo-European Workshop
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

From : November 19-20, 2011
Main organizer and workshop host

        IIT Kanpur is a member in the consotium, ERASMUS MUNDUS COOPERATIVE EXTENSION WINDOW (EMECW)- INDIA/ AISIA. The Erasmus Mundus Programme promotes co-operation in academic education and research between EU and Indian/ Asian partner institutions through students and faculty mobility. The workshops on Bologna Process have motivated us to organize a workshop on “Quality Assurance in Higher Technical Education”.

Indian Institutes of Technology are a group of fifteen autonomous engineering and technology oriented institutes of higher education established and declared as Institutes of National Importance by the Parliament of India. IITs were created to train scientists and engineers, with the aim of developing a skilled workforce to support the economic and social development of India after independence in 1947. There are seven old IITs namely, IIT Kharagpur (1951), IIT Bombay (1958), IIT Chennai (1959), IIT Kanpur (1959), IIT Guwahati (1994), and IIT Roorkee (2001). In addition, eight newly established IITs viz., Bihar (Patna), Rajasthan (Jodhpur), Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad), Himachal Pradesh (Mandi), Orissa (Bhubaneshwar), Madhya Pradesh (Indore), Gujarat (Gandhinagar), and Punjab ( Rupnagar) have joined the consortium.

IIT Kanpur was established in 1959. The institute is engaged in carrying out original research of significance and technology development at the cutting edge. It imparts to students so that they become competent and motivated engineers and scientists. The Institute celebrates freedom of thought, cultivates vision and encourages growth; it also inculcates human values and concern for the environment and society.

Sanjay G Dhande(Director)
Kalaynmoy Deb
(Head of Committee)
Ashok K Mittal
V Ravishankar
C S Upadyay
P M Prasad