Prof. Rajesh Kumar Gupta


Dr. Rajesh Kumar Gupta is currently a distinguished professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, San Diego. He serves as the founding director of the Halicioglu Data Science at UC San Diego.


Prof. Gupta did his B.Tech in Electrical Engineering from IIT Kanpur in 1984. He did his MS from University of California, Berkeley in 1986 and obtained his PhD in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1993. His research is in embedded and cyber-physical systems with a focus on sensor data organization and its use in optimization and analytics. He currently leads NSF project MetroInsight and a co-PI on DARPA/SRC Centre on Computing on Network Infrastructure (CONIX) with the goal to build a new generation of distributed cyber-physical systems that use city-scale sensing data for improved services and autonomy. His contributions include SystemC modeling and SPARK parallelizing high-level synthesis, both of which have been incorporated into industrial practice. His publications and patents cover various aspects of embedded systems design, design automation, clock design, data-path synthesis, system-on-chip modeling, and dynamic power management. He served as an advisor to Tallwood Venture Capital, RealIntent, Calypto, and Packet Digital Corporation.

Prof. Gupta has also served as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Design and Test of Computers, founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Embedded System Letters. He currently serves as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems. He holds Qualcomm Endowed Chair in Embedded Microsystems at UC San Diego and INRIA International Chair at the French International Research Institute in Rennes, Bretagne Atlantique. Prof. Gupta is the recipient of the prestigious IITK Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2021.

Achievements and Honors

  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, IITK, 2021.
  • IEEE Computer Society W. Wallace McDowell Award
  • IEEE TCCPS Distinguished Leadership Award.
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award.
  • Components Research Team Award at Intel.
  • ACM Build Sys'16, best paper award at IEEE/ACM DCOSS'08.
  • Best demonstration award at IEEE/ACM IPSN/SPOTS'05.
  • Fellow , The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
  • Fellow, The Association of Computing Machinery (ACM).
  • Fellow, The American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS)