Class of 1986 Young Faculty Fellowship

Dr Pramath Raj Sinha (BT/MME/1986) is the Chairman and the Founder of Harappa Education. He is also the Founding Provost of Anant National University, Gujarat. Dr. Sinha did his B.Tech in Materials and Metallurgical Engineering from IIT Kanpur in 1986. He went on to complete his Masters and PhD from University of Pennsylvania in 1991. He was the Founding Dean of Indian School of Business from 2001 to 2002. He was a Partner at Mc Kinsey and company from 1993 to 2006. He also led the ABP media house after joining the group in 2006. In 2007, Dr. Sinha left the ABP Group to launch his own company 9.9 Media (renamed as 9.9 Group) and currently serves as its Managing Director.Dr Sinha is also the Founder & Trustee of the well-known liberal arts institution, Ashoka University, which launched the Young India Fellowship (YIF) in 2011. He is also the recipient of the prestigious IITK Distinguished Alumnus Award 2018.

Class of 1986 Young Faculty Fellowship was created by Dr. Pramath Raj Sinha (BT/MME/1986). This Young Faculty Research Fellowship will be regulated in accordance with the Institute norms of the 'Young Faculty Research Fellowship' and would be open to young faculty members of all the departments of IIT Kanpur.

Current Occupant

Dr. Abhishek K. Gupta

(March 2022 - Feb. 2025)

Dr. Abhishek K. Gupta received his B.Tech.- M.Tech dual degree in Electrical Engineering from IIT Kanpur in 2010 and PhD degree in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin in 2016. He is currently working as an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. He heads the Modern wireless networks group at IITK. His research is in the area of stochastic geometry and modern communication systems, including 5G, mmWave, THz, vehicular, and molecular communication. He was recipient of IEEE wireless communication letters exemplary reviewer award in 2016, GE-FS leadership award by General Electric Foundation and Institute of International Education in 2009 and IITK academic excellence award for four consecutive years (2006-2009). He is author of the books, An introduction to stochastic geometry (Springer Morgan-Claypool, 2022), Numerical methods using MATLAB (Springer Apress, 2014), and MATLAB by examples (Finch, 2010). Before joining IITK, he was working as Sr. standards engineer at Samsung Research America in Dallas, TX, USA. In the past, he has worked in Applied Microelectronics Circuit Corporation (Pune), Futurewei Technologies (NJ) and Nokia Networks (IL).