The Department of Chemical Engineering, IIT Kanpur has 21 faculty members who bring to the Department a wealth of expertise to maintain a vibrant teaching and research environment. Several of our faculty members are Fellows of all the Indian Academies of Sciences and Engineering, and many serve on the editorial boards of national and international journals. They have also been recognized by the prestigious awards such as the Bhatnagar Prize and the Herdillia, Amar Dye Chem and the NOCIL awards of the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers. Our faculty has authored over 25 textbooks and research monographs. Some examples of the awards and honors to the faculty are listed below.

Infosys Prize in Engineering and Computer Science, Infosys Science Foundation

A. Sharma

Fellow, TWAS -The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World
A. Sharma

Hiyoshi Think of Ecology Award, Hiyoshi Corporation, Japan 
P. K. Bhattacharya

Fellow, Ind. Nat. Acad. Engg., New Delhi 
S. K. Gupta

Fellow, Nat. Acad. Sc., Allahabad  
D. Kunzru

Young Engineer Award, Ind. Nat. Acad. Engg, New Delhi 
Y. M. Joshi

Dow's Prof. M. M. Sharma Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Chemical Engineering Endowment, UICT, Mumbai
A. Sharma

Young Scientist Award, Dept. Atom. Ener. 
V. Shankar

Diamond Jubilee Young Achievers Award , Ind. Inst. Chem. Engr.. 
V. Shankar, A. Ghatak, Y. M. Joshi

Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship 
N. Verma

Young Engineer Award, Ind. Nat. Acad. Engg, New Delhi 
Y. M. Joshi

J. C. Bose National Fellowship, Dept. Sc. Tech. .
A. Sharma

Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation 
A. Sharma

Young Engineer Award, Ind. Nat. Acad. Engg, New Delhi 
A. Ghatak, V. Shankar

Associate, Ind. Acad. Sc., Bangalore 
Y. M. Joshi 

Other Prestigious Awards
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Engineering Sciences  
A. Sharma (2002)

Distinguished Alumnus Award IIT Kanpur  
A. Sharma (2007)

Herdillia Award, Ind. Inst. Chem. Engr.  
R.D. Srivastava (1980)
A. Kumar (1986)
S. K. Gupta(1987)
D. Kunzru (1992)
R. P. Chhabra (1996)
P. K. Bhattacharya (1998)
A. Sharma (2003)