Minutes of the CCCC meeting held on 18th April'07

Members Present:

CSE: Dr. A. Mukerjee, ACMS: Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Gymkhana: Mr. Mohit Mangal, Mr. Arun Raghavan

CC: R Tewari, Y D S Arya, Brajesh Pandey, K S Singh, Aftab Alam, H P S Parihar, Nirmal Roberts, Gopesh Tiwari, and P Gupta

1- Minutes of last meeting were confirmed.

2- Announcements:

- (i) Besides the renewal of SAS, ABAQUS (8 Licenses), NOD32 (1000 Licenses) CC procured few S/Ws in the last financial year(See the list as attachment to this mail).
- (ii) A committee for space requirements of CC has been formed by the Director which will look into the present and future needs considering increased student intake and specialized requirements of machines like high performance Clusters of CC and other project investigators.
- 3- Agenda Item: Blocking of websites.

CCCC has discussed about the current policy on the above said issue. It has been decided that blocking should be restricted to the sites containing pornographic material and gambling/gaming kind of activities. CC website will keep blocking site information and whenever blocking message appears for a blocked site, it will also display the information. Also, there was some discussion on the blocking of some port numbers. Mr. Navpreet Singh (Net Admin) will have discussions with student representatives regarding this issue.

Meeting ended with the thanks to the Chair.

Dr. YDS Arya Computer Centre IIT Kanpur- 208016