Latest News


Recent Events



SOTA Seminar of Pranesh Chandra Mahato, Title: A study of Frustrated spin systems, specifically Quantum Spin Liquids,

Time: 10:30 AM, Venue: FB-382(A. K. Raychaudhuri Seminar Room)

Central Research Facilities of the Department

Sponsored and Consultancy projects

Recent PhD Thesis

  • Search for a Charged Higgs Boson at 13 TeV in the CMS experiment at the LHC, CERN.
    Mr. Ravindra Kumar Verma(27/12/2019)

  • First principle investigation of topological phases and properties of crystalline materials.
    Mr. Sougata Mardanya(16/12/2019)

  • Comprehending Occasional Uncoupling Induced Chaotic.
    Mr. Anupam Ghosh(11/12/2019)

  • Hybrid Nano-Mechanical Resonators.
    Mr. Rajan Kumar Singh(19/11/2019)

Recent Publications

Complete List of Publications 2019-2020 Complete List of Publications 2018-2019 Complete List of Publications 2017-2018



Faculty Overview

Scope and Focus

Faculty Vacancies

Awards and Honours


Faculty Overview

Since the inception of the Institute in 1960, the Department of Physics has been extremely active and has, over the years, established itself as one of the premier Science departments at an international level.


Awards & Honours

Books Published

Distinguished Alumni

Jagadishwar Mahanty Lec. Ser.

Research Scholar Day




Suo Moto Disclosure

Department of Physics

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur



The Physics Department of IIT Kanpur is engaged in research and teaching in the frontier areas of experimental and theoretical physics. These include biological physics, condensed matter physics, high energy and nuclear physics, cosmology, astrophysics, string theory, photonics, quantum optics, information theory, quantum computation, nonlinear dynamics, statistical physics, soft matter physics and atomic and molecular physics. Excellence in research and teaching has been the focus of this Department ever since its inception. Today, the vision is to groom leaders who will excel in their workplace as a result of the foundation they have received during their education at IIT Kanpur.


Information about the department (as on 1st November, 2019)

Manpower data:

1 Number of faculty members 43 (Full time: 41, Visiting: 2)
2 Number of staff members 28
3 Number of Inst. Post-doctoral fellows 6
4 Number of DST Inspire fellows 4
5 Number of women scientists 2
6 Number of Ph.D students 170
7 Number of M.Sc-Ph.D students 40
8 Number of M.Sc (2 yr) students 60
9 Number of B.S-M.S students 9
10 Number of B.S students 147


List of Research laboratories:

  1. Biophotonics Lab (BIOPSYL): Dr. Asima Pradhan
  2. Metamaterials and Plasmonics Lab: Dr. S. Anantha Ramakrishna
  3. Photonics Lab: Dr. R. Vijaya
  4. Diffuse Light Imaging Laboratory: Dr. H. Wanare
  5. Quantum Measurements Lab: Dr. Saikat Ghosh
  6. Quantum Optics and Entanglement Lab: Dr. Anand Kumar Jha
  7. Fiber Optics Lab: Dr. Saurabh Mani Tripathi
  8. Magnetic Field Imaging Lab: Dr. Satyajit Banerjee
  9. Superconductivity and Magnetism Lab: Dr. Zakir Hossain
  10. Soft Matter Physics Laboratory: Dr. Krishnacharya
  11. Magnetoelectronics Lab: Dr. Soumik Mukhopadhyay
  12. Low-Temperature Lab, SQUID/PPMS Lab: Dr. K. P. Rajeev
  13. STM Lab: Dr. Anjan Kumar Gupta
  14. Physics of Electronic Materials: Dr. Y. N. Mohapatra
  15. Optical Spectroscopy Lab: Dr. Rajeev Gupta
  16. Condensed Matter-Low Dimensional Systems Lab: Dr. Zakir Hossain
  17. Waves and Beams Lab: Dr. Sudeep Bhattacharjee
  18. Simulation and Modeling Lab: Dr. M. K. Verma
  19. Soft and active matter Lab: Dr. Manas Khan
  20. X-ray and Neutron Scattering Laboratory: Dr. S N Nandi
  21. Tandetron Accelerator Lab: Dr. Aditya H Kelkar
  22. Spectroscopic Investigation of Novel systems: Dr. Jayita Nayak
  23. Quantum Materials Laboratory: Dr. Chanchal Sow


List of Teaching Laboratories:

  1. UG Lab (PHY 101)
  2. Optics Lab (PHY 224)
  3. Modern Physics Lab (PHY 315)
  4. Electronics Lab (PHY441)
  5. MSc Lab (PHY 461/462)


List of central/common facilities:

  1. Workshop
  2. Department Library
  3. Squid/PPMS lab
  4. FIB facility
  5. Low Dimensional Lab
  6. Tandetron Accelerator
  7. Computer Lab for PhD students


Admission criteria

B.S and B.S-M.S: Admission is by the nation-wide Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) conducted for those who have completed 12 years of schooling. Admission is done once in a year. One can consult the JEE website for relevant details.

M.Sc (2 yrs) and M.Sc-Ph.D: Admission is by the nation-wide Joint Admission Test (JAM) conducted for those with Bachelors Degree. Admission is done once in a year. For more details, one may consult the JAM website.

Ph.D: Admission is by a written test and interview for those who have a Masters degree in Physics and have secured a fellowship (either by clearing the GATE exam with a cut-off score decided each year, or have a JRF for research from agencies such as Inspire or CSIR or UGC or PMRF). Admission is also granted directly to 4-yr undergraduate degree holders from IITs with a CPI more than 8.0. Admission is done once or twice in a year, depending on the availability of seats.

Recruitment criteria

Recruitment for Faculty positions: The institute announces on its website whenever a faculty recruitment portal is opened. Applications have to be submitted online and a departmental committee selects the applicants to be called for a seminar (skype or in person). Following the seminar, the application is recommended for an interview if found to be suitable. All the applications are studied by the selection committee and a decision is made by the selection committee appointed by the Director. Applicants are expected to have an exceptional academic record in their masters and doctoral studies, and 3 years of post-doctoral experience to be considered for the post of Assistant Professor. Appointments are also made at Associate Professor and Professor level following the same set of norms prescribed by the institute for all departments.

Recruitment for Staff positions: The institute advertises on its website whenever staff recruitment is initiated. All the available posts, their numbers, and the essential/desired qualifications are mentioned in the advertisement. The department does the short-listing, conducts written/trade tests and/or interviews as applicable and an institute-level committee makes the decision.