National Organizing Committee

Chairman Prof. P.K. Kalra, Head, EE/ACES, IIT Kanpur

Reception Committee

Prof. Gurunath, IIT Kanpur Dr. M. Nasim, DMSRDE, Kanpur Dr. Rajendra Singh, ER&IPR, DRDO Dr. V.R. Balakrishnan, SSPL, New Delhi

Technical Session Committee

Prof. R.K. Thareja, DOAA, IIT Kanpur Prof. A.K. Dutta, IIT Kanpur Prof. Utpal Das, IIT Kanpur Prof. S. Ramakrishnan, IISc, Bangalore Prof. K.S. Narayan, JNACR, Bangalore Mr Bikash Kumar, Tata-BP Solar Dr. Suresh Chandra, NPL, New Delhi

Publication Committee

Prof. S. Kar, IIT, Kanpur Prof. Satyendra Kumar, IIT Kanpur Prof. A.K. Pal, Jadavpur University, Kolkata Prof. K.P. Vijay Kumar, Cochin University Dr. Chetan Singh Solanki, IIT Bombay Dr. P. Pradeep, NIT, Calicut

Hospitality Committee/

Accommodation/Logistics Committee

Prof. Sunder Manoharan, IIT Kanpur Prof. R.B. Pode, Nagpur University Mr. S.P. Gaba, IRDE, Dehra Dun Dr. S.S. Bawa, NPL, New Delhi Dr. Chandra Prakash, ER&IPR, DRDO Dr. Ashok Kapoor, SSPL New Delhi

Publicity Committee

Prof. Deepak Gupta, IIT Kanpur Dr. Kamalahasan, NPL, New Delhi Mr. Durga Singh, IRDE, Dehra Dun

Industrial Relation

Prof. J. Kumar, Head, ACMS, IIT Kanpur Mr. Vijay Kumar, GM-Technology, MBPV Dr. A.K. Gupta, IRDE, Dehra Dun Prof. Subhashish Ghosh, JNU, New Delhi

Convenor

Prof. Shafi Qureshi, Department of Electrical Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur 208016

Local Organising Committee

Dr. S.S.K. Iyer, IIT Kanpur, Coordinator Technical Sessions Dr. Monica Katiyar, IIT Kanpur, Coordinator Reception Dr. S. Panda, IIT Kanpur, Coordinator Publication Dr. Anoop Singh, IIT Kanpur, Coordinator Hospitality Dr. Ashish Garg, IIT Kanpur, Coordinator Accommodation Dr. Santosh Tripathi, DMSRDE, Kanpur, **Coordinator Publicity** Dr. T.H. Goswami, DMSRDE, Kanpur, Coordinator Logistics Dr. Amitabh Verma, DGM- MBPV, Coordinator **Industry Relation** Dr. R.S. Anand, IIT Kanpur, Organising Secretary

Registration:

Registration can be done by filling up the registration form provided on the conference website.

Our Sponsors:







Department of Electrical Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT AND CALL FOR ABSTRACTS

National Conference on the Emerging Trends in the Photovoltaic Energy Generation and Utilization



March 27-29, 2008

Conference Convenor: Dr. Shafi Qureshi Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, Email- qureshi@iitk.ac.in Phone: +91-512-2597133, Fax: +91-512-2590063

Organizing Secretary: Dr. Raghubir Singh Anand Senior Research Engineer, Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, Email- rsanand@iitk.ac.in Phone: +91-512-2597102, 7832, Fax: +91-512-2590063

Conference Website: http://www.iitk.ac.in/photovoltaics Conference Email: photovoltaic08@iitk.ac.in

Background:

The photovoltaic cells provide clean, environmental friendly and perennial source of electrical energy. In more than 90% photovoltaic cells and as also in integrated chips (ICs), Silicon is the base material. Silicon based PV technology has made great progress in terms of increase in efficiency and its utilization. Large grid and off grid PV panels are coming up fast world over. By 2040, it is estimated that the share of electric energy generated from PVs will increase from present 1% to about 10%. This may go more than 50% by the end of the present century. Hence, the need of Silicon is likely to increase many fold in future. To meet such challenges, trends are emerging world over to find alternate materials, processes and device structures of right characteristics. Thin films either of silicon, III-V, II-VI group materials, polymers, nanoparticles/rods, quantum dots or their hybrids may provide the ultimate solution.

India being a tropical country gets abundant sunlight throughout the year and therefore has a great scope for the photovoltaic energy generation. At present various govt. and private companies like CEL, BEL, BHEL, Moserbaer Photovoltaic, TATA-BP Solar, Maharishi solar Technology and many others are making solar panels using indigenous and imported technologies. Yet another company, Signet Solar India is being launched with GW capacity in the country. To support the industry, there is need for R&D in different aspects of PVs to increase efficiency and usage by reducing costs. The conference aims at bringing together academicians, scientists and technologists at the same platform to meet the challenge.

Conference Topics:

The focus of the conference will be on all the facets of current and emerging PV technologies and related issues like:

- (1) Advances in polysilicon and silicon wafer technology.
- (2) Current Status of Silicon PV: Crystalline, Multi-crystalline and Amorphous.
- (3) High Efficiency III-V and Multi-junction cells.
- (4) Thin Film: CdTe, CIGS, micromorph, crystalline silicon, etc.
- (5) Emerging Technologies: Polymer, Gratzel, Bio, Nano particles/rods based cells.
- (6) Building Integrated PV and developments in Module Technology.
- (7) Concentrator PV
- (8) BOS & Instrumentation related to PV
- (9) Any other issue related to PVs

Conference Structure:

Conference will have paper presentation including both oral and poster sessions, key note lectures and industrial exhibitions. Technical tours of various research facilities will be organized at IIT Kanpur.

Conference Schedule:

Abstract Submission Date:November 07, 2007Abstract Acceptance:December 06, 2007Paper Submission Date:February 06, 2008

Abstracts:

Interested authors are requested to submit short abstracts of their proposed papers. Abstract can be either uploaded on the conference website or sent by email to conference email id photovoltaic08@iitk.ac.in

Include: Paper title, names of all the authors, complete postal address, email address of the corresponding author and abstract.

Conference Fees:

Students	1000 INR
Academics	3000 INR
Industry	5000 INR

Location of the conference:

The conference will be held at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.

Patron

Prof. S.G. Dhande, Director, IIT Kanpur

Co-Patrons

Prof. Kripa Shanker, Deputy Director, IIT Kanpur Prof. S.C. Srivastava, Dean R&D, IIT Kanpur

National Advisory Committee

Prof. K.L. Narsimhan, TIFR, Mumbai Prof. B.M. Arora, TIFR, Mumbai Prof. B.M. Arora, TIFR, Mumbai Prof. A.K. Barua, IACS, Kolkatta Dr. Prahlada R., CC R&D, DRDO Prof. Vikram Kumar, Director, NPL, New Delhi Dr. S.Vathsal, Director, ER & IPR, DRDO Mr. K. Subramanya, CEO, Tata BP Solar Mr. Prasanth Sakhamuri, MD, HHV, Bangalore Dr. S.K. Kaicker, Chairman & MD, CEL, Sahibabad Mr. Ravi Khanna, CEO, MBPV Ltd, Noida Dr. Rajeeva Lahri, President, CEO, Signet Solar India Dr. Bibek Bandyopadhyay, Advisor & Head, SEC, MNRE

Mr. Arun Mishra, GM, Maharishi Solar Technology Dr. S.S. Sundram, Director, IRDE, Dehra Dun Dr. K.U. Bhaskar Rao, Director, DMSRDE, Kanpur Prof. G.N. Mathur, IIT Kanpur, India Mr. Pradeep Kumar Basu, Director, SSPL, New Delhi Dr. M.P. Chacharkar, Director, DL, Jodhpur Prof. K.N. Bhatt, IISc, Bangalore Prof. T.S. Natrajan, Deptt of Physics, IIT Madras