Professor Sri Sivakumar


Breif Introduction:

Sri Sivakumar completed his post doctoral work from University of Victoria, Victoria, BC, Canada, followed by Postdoctoral Associate from Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (CNST) and doctoral from The University of Melbourne, Australia. He joined Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, in 2014, where he currently holds the positions of Professor of Chemical Engineering and Coordinators of 'Centre for Nanosciences' and 'Advanced Imaging Centre'.





Area of Research:

  • Lanthanide-doped nanodevices
  • Multifunctional nanomaterials for drug delivery and bio-imaging applications
  • Nanocatalysts
  • Nanomaterials for solar hydrogen generation
  • Photonic crystals


Academic and Research Interests:

  • Lanthanide based nanodevices
  • Multifunctional nanomaterials for drug delivery and bio-imaging
  • Novel nanocatalyst
  • Nanomaterials for solar H2 generation
  • Photonic materials



Awards and Honours:

  • Prof. CNR award for outstanding research contribution for the year 2014
  • Class of 1979 Research Fellowship, by IITK
  • Appreciation from IIT Senate/director for getting above 3.5 points in the CHE 674 course (Two times)
  • Best incoming student award, University of Victoria, Canada.
  • Junior Research Fellowship, Perfumes and Flavours Association of India
  • Manudhane merit scholarship, University of Mumbai, India



Contact Information


Room No. 204B, , Northern Lab II, Chemical Engineering
(Office) +91-0512-259-7697