Dr. Indra Sen

Principle Investigator ; Associate Professor

06.2021-present Associate Editor, Geophysical Research Letters, published by American Geophysical Union
01.2021-present Associate Editor, Vadose Zone Journal, published by Soil Science Society of America, USA
01.2021-present Editorial Advisory Board, Environmental Science and Technology, published by American Chemical Society
12.2020-present Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur, India
06.2018-present Research Affiliate, School of the Earth Ocean and Environment, University of South Carolina, USA
11.2016-present Associated Faculty, Centre for Environmental Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
06.2013-present Long-Term Guest Investigator, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA


2021 Batch of 1970 Young Faculty Fellowship, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
2020 Young Scientist Award (<40 years), Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India
2014 Young Scientist Award (<35 years), Ministry of Mines, Government of India
2013 INSPIRE Faculty Award, Government of India
2009 Doctoral Evidence Acquisition Fellowship, Florida International University, USA
2009 Elected Member Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society, USA
2008 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, Florida International University, USA

Post Doctoral Associate

Dr. Neelavannan K.
Ph.D., 2019; University of Madras
Marine Geochemistry, Marine Geology,
Microplastics, and Marine litter
Dr. Tanuj Shukla
Ph.D. 2018; Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology
Glaciology, Hydro-geochemistry
and Glacial-Climate linkages
Dr. Sarwar Nizam
Ph.D. 2021; IIT Kanpur
Himalayan Cryosphere

Ph.D - Scholar

Nita Roy
M.Sc. 2018; Jadavpur University
Glacier meltwater geochemistry
M.Sc. 2017; Delhi University
Glacier River Intraction
Anikendra Das
M.Sc. 2021; Jadavpur University
Permafrost Carbon in the Himalayas, Carbon Cycle.
Subham Dutta
M. Tech. 2021, IIT Kanpur
Isotope Geochemistry, Geochemical Cycles
Samayak Pradhan
M. Sc. 2021; Delhi University
Metamorphic CO2 Degassing, Carbon Cycling

M-Tech Students

Anjan Halder
M. Sc. 2019; Presidency College
River Geochemistry, Weathering Climate Linkage.

Lab Members

Akshay Kumar
Lab Technician
Deepu Sharma
Lab assistant
Aditya Tripathi
Lab Manager

Former Lab Members

  • Soumita Boral (Former PhD Student, now Post-doc at IPGP, Paris)
  • Arijeet Mitra (Former PhD student, now Post-doc at IISc, Bangalore)
  • Sarwar Nizam (Former PhD student, now post-doc at IIT Kanpur)
  • Deep Sengupta (Former Project Associate, now Post-doc at Berkeley)
  • Nikita Agrawal (Former Project Associate, now at Shell, India)
  • Sudhakar Ranjan (Former M. Tech. student, now at Geological Society of India)
  • Gayatri Mishra (Former M. Tech. student,now PhD student at University of Caifornia, Riverside)
  • Mayuri Pandey (Former Post-doc, now Assistant Professor at Banaras Hindu University)
  • Sarthak Ghosh (Former M. Tech Student, now at Geological Survey of India)
  • Nikitasha Chatterjee (Former M.Tech student, now PhD student at IIT Kharagpur)