## INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KANPUR

(Minute-to-minute program for convocation)

1.	Arrival of Chief Guest/Guest of Honor at IIT Kanpur Air strip (They will be received by Prof. P K Bharadwaj, Convener, Institute Advisory Committee, and Prof. Sanjay Mittal.)	12:10 Hrs
2.	CG/GoH leave Air-strip by car for Auditorium	12:12 Hrs
3.	Arrival of the CG/GoH at the Auditorium (They will be received by the Director and Chairman, Board of Governors, who will present them bouquets and usher them for robing and refreshment	12:15 Hrs
4.	The Director will introduce CG/GoH to the members of BOG and other functionaries in the Academic Procession.	12:21 Hrs
5.	Academic Procession starts	12:23 Hrs
6.	Academic Procession enters the Auditorium	12:24 Hrs
7.	National Anthem (As soon as the procession reaches on the stage. Everyone keeps standing.)	12:27 Hrs
8.	Invocation (No one sits after the anthem, but keeps standing while the Invocation is O	12:28 Hrs <b>N.</b> )
9.	Chairman, Board of Governors declares the Convocation open	12:31 Hrs
10	Award of degrees by the Chairman, Senate (For all graduating students, Chairmen SUGC and SPGC will present the names which will be displayed on the screen. No student will receive the degree in person.)	12:32 Hrs
11.	Presentation of Citation for Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa)	12:45 Hrs
12.	Award of DSc ( <i>Honoris Causa</i> ) by Visitor, IIT Kanpur (Mr. N R Narayana Murthy)	12:47 Hrs
13.	Presentation of Citation for Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa)	12:49 Hrs
14.	Award of DSc ( <i>Honoris Causa</i> ) by Visitor, IIT Kanpur ( <i>Prof. Ashoke Sen</i> )	12:51 Hrs
15.	Chairman, BOG signs the register for award of degrees	12:53 Hrs
16.	Exhortation by the Chairman, Senate	12:54 Hrs
17.	Presentation of Medals and Prizes by the Chairman, BOG  (Only five medals will be given in the main ceremony.)	12:56 Hrs

18. Report of the Institute by the Director (Only the executive summary of the report will be read.)	13:01 Hrs
19. Chairman, BOG invites Guest of Honor to address graduates	13:08 Hrs
20. Address by the Guest of Honor	13:09 Hrs
21. Chairman, BOG invites Chief Guest to address graduates	13:12 Hrs
22. Convocation address by the Chief Guest	13:13 Hrs
23. The National Anthem	13:23 Hrs
24. Chairman, BOG declares the Convocation closed	13:24 Hrs
25. Academic Procession leaves	13:25 Hrs
26. Procession reaches Green Room at the back of the Auditorium (CG/GoH will remove the convocation robes.)	13:28 Hrs
27. Director presents Mementoes to Chief Guest/Guest of Honor (Mementoes will be given in Green Room in presence of Chairman, BoG.)	13:29 Hrs
28. CG/GoH leave Auditorium by car for the air strip (Director and Dean, Academic Affairs will accompany them to the car.)	13:30 Hrs
29. CG/GoH arrive at the air strip (Convener, IAC, and Prof. Sanjay Mittal will receive them at the air strip and will be with them till their departure.)	13:33 Hrs
30. Chief Guest and Guest of Honor depart	13:35 Hrs

### Notes:

- Director, IIT Kanpur is also Chairman, Senate of IIT Kanpur.
  Chief Guest is President of India.
- President of India is also the Visitor of IIT Kanpur
  Guest of Honor is Governor, Uttar Pradesh.

# II and III ceremony of Convocation

## B: Ceremony to distribute Degrees & Awards to PG students

1.	PG students and their parents occupy seats latest by	15:15 Hrs

2. Address by Shri N R Narayana Murty 15:30 Hrs

3. Distribution of degrees by the Chairman, Senate to PG students 15:45 Hrs. (Graduates of PhD, MTech, MBA, and MDes. programmes will receive degrees)

4. Distribution of Awards and Medals by Chairman, BoG 16:45Hrs

5. Closing of PG ceremony 17:00 Hrs.

#### **BREAK**

11. Closing of UG ceremony

(PG students and their parents leave the Convocation Hall)

#### C: Ceremony to distribute Degrees & Awards to UG students

6. UG students and their parents occupy seats latest by	17:45 Hrs
7. Address by Prof. M Anandakrishnan	18:00 Hrs.
8. Address by Dr. Ashoke Sen	18:10 Hrs
9. Distribution of degrees by the Chairman, Senate to UG students (Graduates of BTech, BTech-MTech dual degree, MSc-2 years, and MSc Integrated programmes will receive degrees)	18:20 Hrs
10. Distribution of Awards and Medals by Chairman Senate	19:30 Hrs

19:45 Hrs