The Department of Civil Engineering at IIT Kanpur was established in 1961.  



Since then the department has been producinghigh-quality technical manpower needed by industry, R&D organizations, and academic institutions. The Department offered B. Tech. degree in Civil Engineering, B. Tech. - M. Tech. Dual degree in Civil Engineering, and M. Tech. degree in Civil Engineering with six specializations, i.e., Structural Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering, Hydraulics & Water Resources Engineering, Transportation Engineering, Geoinformatics, and Engineering Geosciences. An interdisciplinary M. Tech. programme in Environmental Engineering and Management, offered by the Department is a unique programme in the country. The Department also has a vibrant PhD programme in the above-mentioned specializations, including Environmental Engineering.

The Institute has recently (2014) created  Department of Earth Science by carving out the Engineering Geosciences (EG) group of the Department. As a result, the Department will not offer M. Tech. programme in EG specializationwith effect from the academic session 2014-15.